thoughts

I got to have dinner the other night with a sweet sweet friend I do ministry with. As we started talking, she began to pour her heart out to me and I listened to her talk about her self worth, and not feeling enough and my heart broke. The thing that hurt the most though is when she said “How do I make it go away?”At this point I was a loss of words. As someone who has struggled big time with my self worth for years, it honestly hasn’t gone away. I struggle daily with feeling enough. I walked away from the conversation repeating those words over and over “how do I make these thoughts go away?” I had no answer to that question. But than ever so softly — ever so gently, the Lord whispered to me, “my beloved, my child Sam, you delight in me, that is how those thoughts go away!!!”

Satan is constantly speaking negativity into me. Whether it be through social media, or friends who seem to have it all together, I am constantly comparing myself to someone. And it sucks, because it strips away all the joy I have in me, because when my focus shifts to myself , I lose sight of Jesus.

When I am comparing myself to a someone who is “prettier” than me, I am not delighting myself in the Lord.

When I am 56 profiles deep in someone’s Instagram, telling myself that since they get 300 likes on a picture, there life must be perfect, I am not abiding in the love of Jesus

When I don’t feel enough because my satisfaction is coming from how others see me, I have lost sight of how my Father sees me who created me, who knit me together in my mothers womb, who knowns every intricate detail of my being, who delights in me, who longs for me sit at His feet and be completely enamored by Him and his glory.

So back to the thoughts, they stop when we take our focus off ourselves and take delight in the fact that our Father chooses us day in and day out, calls us by name, and his biggest desire is to just pour every ounce of love into our being.

You are His child. You are His beloved. He cherishes every little thing about you. He delights in you. He sings over you. He can’t stop looking at you because of how beautiful you are.

Zephaniah 3:17 — “The Lord your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.” When He is in our midst, the negativity, the comparison, the feelings of not meeting people’s expectations comes to a halt because we know He is here with us and that is all that will matter. Cling to him.IMG_4695

The thoughts — they cease when you are captivated by the Father and His love for you.

Leave a Reply

